top of page

"What I Call Home" - A Question and Answer Blog With Author Hanna M. Shields




  1. What inspired the story you are currently writing?

I like to say that I've been writing this book since I was twelve, because that's when I actually started to come up with the idea. I wrote a two hundred page fan fiction for my parents for Christmas (took me a whole year and I was so proud of myself!), but I always knew that someday I'd want to turn it into my own story. I went through quite a bit as a young adult and teen, so most of what I've written in these books are inspired by those triumphs and struggles. I like to call it my way of coming to terms with what I went through and how God brought me through that into something better.


2. What is the story about? And will there be a second?

I initially planned to only write one book, but the Lord seemed to have other plans as He often does. As soon as I finished the first one, it was like the ideas just started flowing again. So, yes, I have done a lot of plotting, and the goal is to have three books in this series. The first details the main characters escape from the political powerhouse turned villain that kidnapped her at the age of six, forcing her to do his bidding for over fifteen years. The second details her integration into the world-class spy agency and the thickening plot that leaves her and her friends realizing that there was a lot more to his schemes than they initially thought. And the third is still in the works, but will ultimately detail the war they have to fight in order to save the world from said plot.


3. Who is your favorite and least favorite character to write?

The favorite character is hard because I thoroughly enjoy writing both the male and female main character. They both have such interesting backstories and their lives are so connected in a way that it feels like it just flows naturally. My least favorite character is definitely Arthur due to the fact that he's based on a lot of different people that have hurt me in the past. I had to really swallow my pride and understand why these individuals did what they did and how they ended up being the way they are, and it was just extremely emotional and difficult at times.


4. Are your characters based on real people?

Most of them are, yes! I've known a lot of interesting people in my life and have always found it interesting to see why those people act the way they do and why they are the way they are. The main character, Avalon, is meant to represent myself and has helped me come to terms with a lot of things that I was struggling to come to terms with. Other characters that represent real people include Nolan, the male main character, Willow (in book two), Caleb (Nolan's Uncle), Felix (in book two), and Arthur who represents a mix of all the people who have hurt me in the past. I will obviously refrain from giving names as to who these characters represent, but knowing they represent real people sometimes helps give the characters a bit more life.


5. What are some of your favorite books/authors that you would recommend?

There are so many, it's hard to count, but I'll list my top ones here for anyone interested. I am a huge dystopian fan, so that is generally what I stick to, but I have also read historical fiction which can make for some interesting reads. My favorite series by far is the "Hunger Games" series by Suzanne Collins. I always said she's a genius and I meant it. I don't know if it could ever get better. My second is the "Maze Runner" series by James Dashner. I've never been much of a zombie fan but Dashner does it so well it's hard to not be hooked from the get go. And, of course, any author who knows anything about writing will know that J.K. Rowling is also a must. I didn't read her books until just recently, but her writing style is unlike any other and I've actually learned quite a bit from it. In historical fiction I'd say "Unbroken" by Laura Hillenbrand and "The Nightingale" by Kristin Hannah are a must.


6. What do you enjoy most about writing?

I've always loved making sense of things. Maybe it's because I went through so much growing up that didn't make sense. I'm not entirely sure. It just fascinates me the way you can often pick things apart and put them back together again, and that's kind of what writing is for me. It's like a puzzle, really. It makes things make sense. And personally, I never feel closer to God than I do when I'm doing that.


7. What is the most challenging thing about writing?

The emotional impact it has on you is probably the worst. I've lost sleep over it many nights in the past and I'm sure there will be more in the future. You're resurfacing a lot of hurt that most people try to bury, so it's not bound to be easy. Between that and constantly going back and forth as to whether or not your story is actually good, it makes for some rough days.


8. Is there anything you would like people to take away from your story?

Don't ever put limits on what God can do. There are so many things I told myself I wasn't cut out for, but by the grace of God, He can and will pull you through if you are willing to say yes instead of hiding behind a wall of fear. Tomorrow will come either way, so it's best to take the time He's given you and use it the way He intended you to. Days will be dark, and you are going to struggle, but even in our weakness He is strong.







34 views0 comments
bottom of page