top of page

Drowning in Milk: A Guide to Spiritual Maturity


Drowning in Milk: A Guide to Spiritual Maturity

I am excited to announce that I have finished the final edit of my latest book, Drowning in Milk: A Guide to Spiritual Maturity. After taking a little time off from writing my last science fiction novel (Losing Dani Strumm), I was ready for a change and wanted to write a book on Christian spiritual maturity.

I have wanted to write this book since I began teaching nearly twenty years ago at the Baptist church where I served as an Elder. It had become evident that many in the church had attended for years, behaving as if they had only discovered Christianity.

As an Elder, some of my responsibilities were dealing with family issues, marriage counseling, pre-marital counseling, etc. It had become painfully apparent after a short time that nearly all of the perceived problems within these situations, as well as the perceived problems within the church congregation, could be resolved with a bit of maturity, spiritual maturity, to be precise.

I call them "perceived" because they were not the actual root cause of the issues, but rather, the symptoms of a deeper and more problematic issue we face in the church today: Spiritual Maturity, or lack thereof.

Over the years, I have had many experiences dealing with problems in the congregation, especially after serving as interim pastor at the Baptist church and later as the senior pastor of the church I pastor today. I have seen many churches drift away from the small groups and bible studies, especially after COVID-19, and the results are congregation members not growing spiritually because they are no longer surrounded by other believers discussing the scripture together.

I began to look deeper into the issues and recognized that the perceived problems were symptoms, and the matter was immature Christian behavior, which I found can be caused by a few different "root" issues.

In my latest book, Drowning in Milk: A Guide to Spiritual Maturity, I break down what the scriptures say about the spiritually mature (and immature) as well as take a close look at the signs of immaturity (symptoms) to try and discern the root cause and deal with it.

To help with the matter, I also include a Discussion Guide and Small Group Topics in my book to help the readers examine the issue and better understand how to grow spiritually and experience a more peaceful walk with Christ.

I pray this book blesses you and helps you better understand yourself and your relationship with God and others.

bottom of page